Home > A Library of Quiet VOICES > I Found My Heart by Jodine Derena Butler

I Found My Heart by Jodine Derena Butler

I found my heart
on the borderline
of too late

just in time;
a fine lined
delicate box
inlaid with
criss-crossed
tongue and groove
timber framed
and paper thin –
(such was the state it was in)
I found my heart
shaped box
tucked away
under the debris;
no recognition
of her guild
thick-skin scarred
tiny cracks
intricate and interlaced
weather worn
like washed up
driftwood
I found my heart
a mantle piece
and set it
alongside a glass
vase filled
with floral Oriental’s
her lip sealed
tightly shut
innocence and sin
full trust
representative of love
anaesthetised by pain
I found my heart
magnified by you
and you’re telescope
my vision opaque
like liquid amber
in silver teardrop earrings;
in remembrance of
friendships once
lost to train wrecks
a heart shaped
box filled with
precious memories
is where I found my heart
in all her glory –
thinking of you

© Copyright 2009 Jodine Derena Butler.  All Rights Reserved

  1. June 16, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Read this poem any which way you feel – to and fro, up and down, or diagonal. I had fun with this one. Jx

  2. deepee10
    June 16, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I also had fun with this one, although it meant much more to me than that. I like how it deepened as it went–all the images pouring out of the one,”thinking of you.”

  3. June 16, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Lovely, Jodine!

  4. June 17, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Thank you🙂

  5. Walter
    June 28, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Agree whole=heartedly with DP on this, the various readings are fun to do, but it is the sentiments and imagery so well done that make this work for me.

  6. June 28, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Thank you…this one sort of morphed into what it is now. It was initially meant to be read diagonally, back and forth…but when I did that it came out that it could be read every which way and that it all seemed to work. A happy accident I say! Jx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

