Home > A Field of Poetic VOICES > Voting Instructions – by Darryl Price

Voting Instructions – by Darryl Price

Voting Instructions

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”–Aesop
 
I’m for people.
I’m for mushrooms.
I’m against ants.
For sunflowers.
Against those snakes
who kill for shade.
For elephants.
Against hunting
for fun. I’m for
comic books and
against snobs who
think art is worth
 
more than kindness.
I’m for laughing
at the movies,
books, strawberries.
Against cheating
the oceans out
of their bounty.
I’m for coral
reefs, sharks even,
but against the
scientists who
only believe
 
what they can prove,
philosophers who
love to argue
to the death.
I’m for loud music,
against bass
as the only
heard instrument.
I’m for wild trees
and plenty of
them! I’m against
houses being too
 
close together.
I’m for nectoring
monarchs who
could care less
about us humans.
I’m for pictures
of my friends, not
files,living well
in your own way.
I’m against the
definitions
 
of God. I’m for
a starry night.
I’m against smog
just so we can
make some big cash.
I’m for chewing
gum but I’m against
littering. I’m
for poetry,
against writing
to attack and
wound. I’m for love
 
that defends all.
that forgives all,
and includes all.
The only reason
to go to
the stars is to
realize the
light extends down
through all our concepts
of why we
are here. Not worth
fighting over.
 
Darryl Price

Categories: A Field of Poetic VOICES Tags:
  1. May 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Oh…I just love this and I’m all for it! Really had a great time reading this poem…thanks!

  2. May 28, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I am also against houses too close together. I was raised in an enviro of modest means, when of age to be lured to the city, I often wondered why all the obviously
    (to me) rich folk would build their homes spitting distance from each other. I am rural born, there, land is wealth.. The further your home from the next, the higher up the food chain you were considered. This is lovely, a frank and engaging poem.

  3. June 1, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    On the walk to school this morning, my five year old said, “When someone else hurts, I hurt too; when someone dies, I feel like I die too.” We talked about balance and how there is hate and love, hurt and healing, life and death. And it brought me back to this poem – how there are lots of things to be against, but just as many to be for. There is such balance in the YE’s and NE’s here, and while I chuckled while reading the NE’s (I say YE to those!), I smiled wide at all the YE’s. From the beginning (YE! YE!) to the end.

  4. claireking
    June 5, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    This is just lovely. Very simple, honest, bright.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

