Home > A Field of Poetic VOICES > Oh The Power – by Darryl Price

Oh The Power – by Darryl Price

Oh The Power

by Darryl Price

I made you a flower, but then I
put it back. What I mean is I
decided the best way to give it to
you was to simply leave it alone. Does

it matter if it was stuck in the
ground somewhere or growing in my head? After
all it popped up with your name on
it and I said,”Hey I know her!”

Still it didn’t justify any living thing be
sacrificed to the goddess of the moment. This
is turning out all wrong. Mainly because I
can feel the dreaded them taunting me to

get real, buddy. What they mean, what they
always mean, is to just conform. Be like
us or die away from us.Doesn’t matter
either way. They’ll rewrite history and there’s nothing

you can do about it.  I’m just really
glad right now that flowers don’t trade in
such utter nonsense.They laugh out loud. They
dance around in the wind and mirror the

sun’s moves step for step.And they’re kind
and good listeners to boot. They don’t judge.
I can leave them. What they tend to
remember is the way you moved among them.

Darryl Price    031610

  1. Editor of Voices
    May 20, 2010 at 1:00 am

    and move through them with poetry and grace you certainly did & do. deepee will never be “What they mean, what they
    always mean, is to just conform”

    thanks for posting this strong voice for gentleness, we will all be looking for more from this flower to our garden.

  2. March 23, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

