Home > Mabel Honeycutt: A Work in Progress > Introducing Mabel Honeycutt (IV) – by Michelle McEwen

Introducing Mabel Honeycutt (IV) – by Michelle McEwen

Mabel Honeycutt is a character who has yet to find a home in a story. So far, her story is told in snippets: some sound like poems, some sound like songs, some like diary entries. The story will come.

Mabel Honeycutt pt. 4 (Mabel & Ovello— the man she’s runnin’ from)

by Michelle McEwen

Ovello called me.
He said he shoulda known it wouldn’t last
when I kept my maiden name. Said
he’s a good man what deserves
a woman’s woman. Said he shoulda
listened to his mama
when she told him to leave me be.
He told me “gon’ on and run, Mabel.” Said
he’s better off without me anyhow
especially since I ain’t birth him
no boy babies. That’s when I hung up.

Guess I’m free now.

  1. mcewen75
    May 30, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Ovello – what an ugly name that man got. I bet his last name is uglier, no wonder Mabel wanted to keep her maiden name. Honeycutt is way better than whatever Ovello’s last name is. I bet it’s ugly. Tell him I said so!!! Run, Mabel, run!

  2. Eddie
    May 31, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Eddie here – gals are lucky, if Marzy & I ever gets hitched she wants me to take her last name! How’d that sound “Eddie Pan”, Its either that or she’s “Marzy Pan-Pizzaola” if I had my choice. Mabel might be growin on me as I hear more about her. Just wanna know if there’s some kinda’ ointment for that.

  3. Michelle McEwen
    May 31, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Hahahaha @ “what an ugly name that man got.” His last name is Parker.

  4. claireking
    June 7, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I want to take Mabel out for a couple of margheritas. She ain’t birth him no boy babies? Just as well, who’d want to push a few little Ovello’s out? The world wouldn’t thank you, Mabel.

  5. Michelle McEwen
    June 7, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Haa, Claire. “Who’d want to push a few little Ovellos out.” That can fit somewhere in the story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

